first_imgThat Indian captain M.S. Dhoni was not out during in the first innings of the Barbados Test has been confirmed. The ICC on Thursday confirmed that an error by the host broadcaster during day one of the second Test between the West Indies and India in Barbados led to the wrong replay being shown to the third umpire during a review of a no-ball. During India’s innings, Dhoni was out caught at mid-on off the bowling of Fidel Edwards in the 59th over. On-field umpire Ian Gould suspected that the delivery may have been a no-ball so, as per the correct protocols, he sought confirmation from the third umpire, Gregory Brathwaite. Upon review, the delivery Brathwaite was shown by the host broadcaster was legitimate and so Dhoni was given out. It was subsequently established that Brathwaite had been shown the wrong replay and that the delivery that led to Dhoni’s dismissal should indeed have been called a no-ball.”The host broadcaster for this series, IMG Media, acknowledged the mistake and has apologised. Having looked into the situation, I am satisfied it was an unfortunate but honest mistake in what is a tense and live environment. It is worth pointing out that the umpires followed the correct procedures and are without blame in this matter.” said Chris Broad of the Emirates Elite Panel of ICC Match Referees. “Seeing as the game has continued, clearly there is no opportunity to reverse the decision. We are forced now put it behind us and move on with the remainder of the match,” said Mr Broad. A spokesman for IMG said: “IMG Media takes its responsibilities on this matter very seriously. This was a case of human error, compounded by a senior replay operative having to return home at very short notice.”   Dhoni had been judged caught off Fidel Edwards with India struggling at 167 for 5. But a closer look at the pictures shows how umpire Ian Gould had stretched his arm to call a no ball. At a time when technology and the DRS are the subjects of controversy, the latest faux-pas from the broadcasters further highlights why camera outputs can’t be blindly trusted. The BCCI, though, has left the decision on any action over Dhoni’s dubious decision on the team management.advertisementlast_img

Ind vs WI 2nd Test: ICC confirms Dhoni adjudged out off no ball

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *